Popsicle stick bridge

I designed this bridge for the boy next door. He watches my son and I build projects, and he asked if he could build a bridge for his cars. I took him downstairs and we did a real quick sketch in illustrator. This is a quick model to show everyone how easy it is to design and build a popsicle stick bridge, where playing with cars is the important factor, not strength. If anyone is interested in building this bridge I have made instructions and templates as a pdf for download. The Drawdio is nearly finished. click here to see the real thing on my crafts blog

click to see full size image

~ by 3d4me on Monday, July 20, 2009.

33 Responses to “Popsicle stick bridge”

  1. What did you use for a program. I teach 7th Grade Tech Ed and we are building craft stick briges!

  2. Hello Joe
    I drew the design in Adobe Illustrator. I then exported the splines and imported them into Cinema 4d. The above picture is a 3d model in Cinema 4d. You can download a demo from http://www.maxon.net/downloads.html and open my file to have a look at the 3d model. If you want to build the real thing then download the pdf with all the printouts and instructions. https://3d4me.wordpress.com/2009/08/05/popsicle-stick-bridge-instructions/ I illustrated the instructions in Adobe Illustrator. Have fun with popsicle sticks.

  3. i like your bridge that is good

  4. hi, im interested in building a bridge similar to this one, can you contact me via email!!!

  5. That’s cool! šŸ™‚

  6. How many pounds will the bridge hold?

    • Hello John. The original purpose of designing this bridge was simply for play, I know it holds quite a few kilos because I put about 20 books on it. You can make it stronger by putting cross beams on the top of the bridge instead of a carrying handle. Sorry I can’t be more specific because it was designed for boys to play with.

  7. this bridge is just …. so amazing! … šŸ™‚

  8. This bridge is sooo awesome.. Just so cool ! šŸ™‚

  9. i am making a popsicle sitck bridge in my physical science class and we are testing them wednesday. i made a bridge similar to this and i will let you know who much weight it held sometime this week. if you are a teacher reading this comment. the bridge idea is so much fun but let your student s have at least 2 months to work on it!!

  10. we are having our scout den build this bridge. what kind of glue was used?

  11. i think this is a cool website!

  12. Why is there 4 sticks on the top?????

  13. how many sticks did this took you?

  14. i really want to make thisone

  15. how mant popsicle sticks did you use?

  16. nice one

  17. We stumbled over here different page and thought I might check things
    out. I like what I see so i am just following you.

    Look forward to looking into your web page for a second time.

  18. I found your blog site on google and check a number of of your early posts.
    Proceed to maintain up the very good operate.
    I simply extra up your RSS feed to my MSN Information Reader.

    In search of forward to reading extra from you later on!

    ā€¦

  19. I think this popsical bridge will hold but what if its to flat at the bottom of the bridge you can make aa thicker bottom for it want just a little bit and thaen thats about all

  20. hi im a girl that building a bridge

  21. thanks for the idea i really needed it for school

  22. This is wonderful,& excellent. Could you please tell me where can I get some popsicle sticks 11/16″ or 3/4″ wide and length can be 10″ or more Thanks so much

  23. is this a beam bridge?? :/

  24. hello do u happen to know what kind of bridge it is? i really need to know

Leave a Reply

 
